krainaksiazek keeping it real a book of poetry and no excuses 20116518

- znaleziono 5 produktów w 2 sklepach

Lusha and Her Man a Story of Love and Survival - 2837511622

46,56 zł

Lusha and Her Man a Story of Love and Survival STRATEGIC BOOK PUB

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

1945 is not the time for a single young woman to be carrying a child, but naďve Lusha Michels remains proud, keeping her head high and hopes up regardless of the contemptuous glares and whispers that follow her around the small, close-knit community in rural Pennsylvania. She desperately tries to make a better life for her baby girl - and find a decent man for herself - but while staying with her rich Aunt Lillian in New York, Lusha once again finds herself in the same predicament that left her heartbroken, single and pregnant two years earlier. But fate has a funny way of showing up at the most unusual times and in the most unlikely of places as you will see in this passionate, heartwarming tale inspired by the real-life love story of Lusha and Her Man. Karen A. Thompson Stewart grew up in Conemaugh, Pennsylvania, and has been writing poetry, plays and short stories including Gussie the Giving Goose, Until You Have Walked in My (Our) Shoes and The Perfect Day. Karen is a licensed Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counselor at the Holmes Street Foundation, Inc. and lives with her husband, Ronell, in Dallas. They have four children and ten grandchildren. Publisher's website:


Please Mrs. Butler - 2827047194

35,20 zł

Please Mrs. Butler PUFFIN

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

The bestselling and much-loved children's poetry classic, Please Mrs Butler by Allan Ahlberg is celebrating its 30th anniversary! With a fresh new look for a brand new generation of school children to take to its heart, every teacher, parent and child should have a copy. Nobody leave the room. Everyone listen to me. We had ten pairs of scissors At half-past two, And now there's only three. This witty collection of school poems by Allan Ahlberg, re-jacketed for its 30th anniversary and for a whole new generation of school children to fall in love with, is full of typical classroom events that will be recognized and enjoyed by everyone. From never-ending projects, reading tests, quarrelling, making-up, excuses and 'Please, Sir, it isn't fair.' Fritz Wegner's line drawings beautifully complement the hilarious and poignant verses. Please Mrs Butler was voted the most important twentieth-century children's poetry book in a Books for Keeps poll. Praise for Please Mrs Butler: "Hilarious and poignant school verses about primary school life. A real winner". (Guardian). "Clever, funny and nostalgic, the collection is a delight". (Sunday Times). "Please Mrs Butter - The most important 20th-century children's poetry book". (Books for Keeps poll). Praise for Allan Ahlberg: "By far our best writer for the young". (Telegraph). Author Allan Ahlberg, a former teacher, postman, plumber's mate and grave digger, is in the super-league of children's writers. He has published over 100 children's books and, with his late wife Janet, created such award-winning picture books as Each Peach Pear Plum and The Jolly Christmas Postman - both winners of the Greenaway Medal. He has also written prize-winning poetry and fiction for older readers. The Telegraph described him as 'By far our best writer for the young.'


Consolations of Philosophy - 2212839584

45,80 zł

Consolations of Philosophy Penguin

Nauki humanistyczne

Alain de Botton, best-selling author of How Proust can Change Your Life, has set six of the finest minds in the history of philosophy to work on the problems of everyday life. Here then are Socrates, Epicurus, Seneca, Montaigne, Schopenhauer and Nietzsche on some of the things that bother us all; lack of money, the pain of love, inadequacy, anxiety, the fear of failure and the pressure to conform.


Benjamin Parzybok - Couch - 2840801171

76,48 zł

Benjamin Parzybok - Couch Big Mouth House

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

"Couch hits on an improbable, even fantastic premise, and then rigorously hews to the logic that it generates, keeping it afloat (at times literally) to the end." -Los Angeles Times "Delightfully lighthearted writing...Occasionally laugh-out-loud funny, the enthusiastic prose carries readers through sporadic dark moments ...Parzybok's quirky humor recalls the flaws and successes of early Douglas Adams."-Publishers Weekly "The book succeeds as a conceptual art piece, a literary travelogue, and a fantastical quest." -Willamette Week "Hundreds of writers have slavishly imitated-or outright ripped off-Tolkien in ways that connoisseurs of other genres would consider shameless. What Parzybok has done here in adapting the same old song to a world more familiar to the reader is to revive the genre and make it relevant again" -The Stranger A Spring Summer Indie Next Reading List Pick: Top 10 Reading Group Suggestions "Couch follows the quirky journey of Thom, Erik, and Tree as they venture into the unknown at the behest of a magical, orange couch, which has its own plan for their previously boring lives. Parzybok's colorful characters, striking humor, and eccentric magical realism offer up an adventuresome read." -Christian Crider, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL A January 2009 Indie Next List Pick "This funny novel of furniture moving gone awry is a magical realism quest for modern times. Parzybok's touching story explores the aimlessness of our culture, a society of jobs instead of callings, replete with opportunities and choices but without the philosophies and vocations we need to make meaningful decisions." -Josh Cook, Porter Square Books, Cambridge, MA "A lot of people are looking for magic in the world today, but only Benjamin Parzybok thought to check the sofa, which is, I think, the place it's most likely to be found. Couch is a slacker epic: a gentle, funny book that ambles merrily from Coupland to Tolkien, and gives couch-surfing (among other things) a whole new meaning." -Paul La Farge "One of the strangest road novels you'll ever read. It's a funny and fun book, and it's also a very smart book. Fans of Tom Robbins or Christopher Moore should enjoy this." -Handee Books "It is an upholstered Odyssey unlike any other you are likely to read. It is funny, confusing in places, wild and anarchic. It is part Quixote, part Murakami, part Tom Robbins, part DFS showroom. It has cult hit written all over it." -Scott, Me and My Big Mouth Benjamin Parzybok on tour: In this exuberant and hilarious debut reminiscent of The Life of Pi and Then We Came to the End, an episode of furniture moving gone awry becomes an impromptu quest of self-discovery, secret histories, and unexpected revelations. Thom is a computer geek whose hacking of a certain Washington-based software giant has won him a little fame but few job prospects. Erik is a smalltime con man, a fast-talker who is never quite quick enough on his feet. Their roommate, Tree, is a confused clairvoyant whose dreams and prophecies may not be completely off base. After a freak accident fl oods their apartment, the three are evicted-but they have to take their couch with them. The real problem? The couch-huge and orange-won't let them put it down. Soon the three roommates are on a cross-country trek along back roads, byways, and rail lines, heading far out of Portland and deep into one very weird corner of the American dream. Benjamin Parzybok is the creator of Gumball Poetry, a journal published through gumball machines, and the Black Magic Insurance Agency, a city-wide mystery/treasure hunt. He has worked as a congressional page, a ghostwriter for the governor of Washington, a web developer, a Taiwanese factory technical writer, an asbestos removal janitor, and a potato sorter. He lives in Portland, Oregon, with the writer Laura Moulton and their two children.


Prison Diaries - 2826637069

66,40 zł

Prison Diaries Apex Publishing

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

Charles Bronson is Britain's most notorious prisoner, a 'Category A' inmate who has spent over 30 years inside as a result of his violent and unpredictable behaviour. No one knows the system better than Charlie. Now, for the very first time, you can find out what it is really like inside a maximum security institution as Charlie blows the lid on his life in HM Wakefield. Written in diary form by Charlie himself from behind locked doors, this unique book uncovers the real Charlie; his thoughts, frustrations and true feelings about the people who inhabit 'the concrete coffin' with him. This raw, unedited text, in his own hand, comes straight from the heart and also reveals another side to the man who has spent much of his time in solitary confinement in inhuman conditions. From writing poetry and creating works of art, to keeping fit and his secret passion for the X Factor and Coronation Street, there is much more to the man dubbed 'Britain's most violent prisoner' than his reputation suggests. Charlie says that he never plans his actions and only reacts violently when provoked and he has received more than his fair share of provocation over the years. This hard hitting book tells you how it is by the man who knows. Following on from his earlier works Loonyology and Respect and Reputation, and Bronson the film about his life, Prison Diaries continues the unbelievable Charles Bronson story. As Charlie says, 'After reading this book you will know what its like to be me'.


Sklepy zlokalizowane w miastach: Warszawa, Kraków, Łódź, Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice

Szukaj w sklepach lub całym serwisie

1. Sklepy z krainaksiazek pl keeping it real a book of poetry and no excuses 20116518

2. Szukaj na wszystkich stronach serwisu

t1=0.029, t2=0, t3=0, t4=0, t=0.029

Dla sprzedawców

copyright © 2005-2016  |  made by Internet Software House DOTCOM RIVER