krainaksiazek my self discovery journal 20168971

- znaleziono 2 produkty w 1 sklepie

Inkblot Pack - 2826676029

70,76 zł

Inkblot Pack Race Point Publishing

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

For over 90 years, inkblots have been used all over the world by psychologists when evaluating their patients dreams and past experiences. This pack comes with 10 inkblots on beautiful keepsake cards and a small booklet that includes an excerpt from the inventor's only published works, Psychodiagnostik. Studying the cards, you can delve into your psyche and that of those around you. Record your findings in a beautifully designed journal that includes quotes about the mind and imagination. Each person sees the inkblots differently, and your interpretation says a lot about who you are. What do you see? Throughout history, on a quest to "know thyself," many have sought understanding of the vast recesses of the mind. To this end, modern psychology has tried to bridge the gap of understanding by providing many tools for both clinicians and laymen alike, utilizing therapy, art, journaling, and medicine. One of the most prevalent tools from clinical psychology to permeate popular culture is the inkblot test, which has been used all over the world to examine personality characteristics, emotional functioning, and mental health. Originally created in 1921, the test was designed to reflect unconscious aspects of one's personality onto presented stimuli - in this case, 10 inkblots shown one at a time to individuals - who are then asked to describe what it is they see in these ambiguous shapes. In theory, when one is shown nonsensical images, the mind will strive to impose meaning on the image in question. What the person describes gives insight into how they perceive and project meaning onto the world around them, and ultimately, about themselves. The fascination of inkblots has become a staple of pop culture as well. The iconic imagery can be found in everything from photography to advertising (such as the artwork for the hit series Dexter) and writing, such as the character in the graphic novel Watchmen. Art legend Andy Warhol found inspiration in the inkblots to create his 1984 paint series. As part of our collective culture, inkblots have created a tool that has inspired many to continue the journey of self knowledge. Included in The Inkblot Pack are: a 128 page journal replete with quotes on perception, reality and emotion from some of the greatest theorists, writers, and thinkers of our time; 10 inkblots to inspire and provoke response; and a 16-page excerpt from Psychodiagnostik, the book in which the inkblots were first introduced and published. Allow yourself to be inspired by the words of some of our greatest minds as you project your own meaning onto what you see in the provided inkblots, and record it in your journal. The journey to self discovery begins now. A Few of the quotes included in the Journal: "Re-examine all you have been told. Dismiss what insults your soul." - Walt Whitman "The soul that is within me no man can degrade." - Frederick Douglass "Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." - Albert Einstein "There are two infinities that confuse me: the one in my soul devours me; the one around me will crush me." - Gustave Flaubert "You are a universe of universes and your soul a source of songs." - Ruben Dario "Unexpressed emotions will never die. They are buried alive and will come forth later in uglier ways." - Sigmund Freud "Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world." - Oscar Wilde "Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night." - Edgar Allan Poe

Sklep: Libristo.pl

Benjamin Parzybok - Couch - 2840801171

77,46 zł

Benjamin Parzybok - Couch Big Mouth House

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

"Couch hits on an improbable, even fantastic premise, and then rigorously hews to the logic that it generates, keeping it afloat (at times literally) to the end." -Los Angeles Times "Delightfully lighthearted writing...Occasionally laugh-out-loud funny, the enthusiastic prose carries readers through sporadic dark moments ...Parzybok's quirky humor recalls the flaws and successes of early Douglas Adams."-Publishers Weekly "The book succeeds as a conceptual art piece, a literary travelogue, and a fantastical quest." -Willamette Week "Hundreds of writers have slavishly imitated-or outright ripped off-Tolkien in ways that connoisseurs of other genres would consider shameless. What Parzybok has done here in adapting the same old song to a world more familiar to the reader is to revive the genre and make it relevant again" -The Stranger A Spring Summer Indie Next Reading List Pick: Top 10 Reading Group Suggestions "Couch follows the quirky journey of Thom, Erik, and Tree as they venture into the unknown at the behest of a magical, orange couch, which has its own plan for their previously boring lives. Parzybok's colorful characters, striking humor, and eccentric magical realism offer up an adventuresome read." -Christian Crider, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL A January 2009 Indie Next List Pick "This funny novel of furniture moving gone awry is a magical realism quest for modern times. Parzybok's touching story explores the aimlessness of our culture, a society of jobs instead of callings, replete with opportunities and choices but without the philosophies and vocations we need to make meaningful decisions." -Josh Cook, Porter Square Books, Cambridge, MA "A lot of people are looking for magic in the world today, but only Benjamin Parzybok thought to check the sofa, which is, I think, the place it's most likely to be found. Couch is a slacker epic: a gentle, funny book that ambles merrily from Coupland to Tolkien, and gives couch-surfing (among other things) a whole new meaning." -Paul La Farge "One of the strangest road novels you'll ever read. It's a funny and fun book, and it's also a very smart book. Fans of Tom Robbins or Christopher Moore should enjoy this." -Handee Books "It is an upholstered Odyssey unlike any other you are likely to read. It is funny, confusing in places, wild and anarchic. It is part Quixote, part Murakami, part Tom Robbins, part DFS showroom. It has cult hit written all over it." -Scott, Me and My Big Mouth Benjamin Parzybok on tour: http://booktour.com/author/benjamin_parzybok In this exuberant and hilarious debut reminiscent of The Life of Pi and Then We Came to the End, an episode of furniture moving gone awry becomes an impromptu quest of self-discovery, secret histories, and unexpected revelations. Thom is a computer geek whose hacking of a certain Washington-based software giant has won him a little fame but few job prospects. Erik is a smalltime con man, a fast-talker who is never quite quick enough on his feet. Their roommate, Tree, is a confused clairvoyant whose dreams and prophecies may not be completely off base. After a freak accident fl oods their apartment, the three are evicted-but they have to take their couch with them. The real problem? The couch-huge and orange-won't let them put it down. Soon the three roommates are on a cross-country trek along back roads, byways, and rail lines, heading far out of Portland and deep into one very weird corner of the American dream. Benjamin Parzybok is the creator of Gumball Poetry, a journal published through gumball machines, and the Black Magic Insurance Agency, a city-wide mystery/treasure hunt. He has worked as a congressional page, a ghostwriter for the governor of Washington, a web developer, a Taiwanese factory technical writer, an asbestos removal janitor, and a potato sorter. He lives in Portland, Oregon, with the writer Laura Moulton and their two children.

Sklep: Libristo.pl

Sklepy zlokalizowane w miastach: Warszawa, Kraków, Łódź, Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice

Szukaj w sklepach lub całym serwisie

1. Sklepy z krainaksiazek pl my self discovery journal 20168971

2. Szukaj na wszystkich stronach serwisu

t1=0.019, t2=0, t3=0, t4=0, t=0.02

Dla sprzedawców

copyright © 2005-2016 Sklepy24.pl  |  made by Internet Software House DOTCOM RIVER