krainaksiazek the next big spanish adventure 20168950

- znaleziono 1 produkt w 1 sklepie

The Siege - 2849850663

128,10 z³

The Siege Random House US

Ksi±¿ki / Literatura obcojêzyczna

For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafó;n comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story - by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.§§Cádiz, 1811: The Spanish port city has been surrounded by Napoleon's army for a year. Their backs to the sea, its residents endure routine bombardments and live in constant fear of a French invasion. And now the bodies of random women have begun to turn up throughout the city - victims of a shadowy killer.§§Police Comisario Rogelio Tizó;n has been assigned the case. Known for his razor-sharp investigation skills - as well as his brutal interrogation methods - Tizó;n has seen everything. Or so he thought. His inquiry into the murders reveals a surprising pattern: Each victim has been found where a French bomb exploded. Logic tells him to pass it off as coincidence; his instinct tells him otherwise, and he begins to view Cádiz as a living chessboard, with himself and the killer the main players.§§In a city pushed to the brink, violence and desperation weave together the lives of a group of unlikely people: the Spanish taxidermist who doubles as a French spy; the young woman who uses her father's mercantile business to run the enemy blockade; the rough-edged corsair who tries to resist her charms; and the brilliant academic furiously trying to perfect the French army's artillery and bring Cádiz to its knees once and for all. And as Napoleon presses closer, Tizó;n must make his next move on the bomb-scarred chessboard before the killer claims another pawn.§§Combining fast-paced narrative with scrupulous historical accuracy, this smart, suspenseful tale of human resilience is Arturo Pérez-Reverte at the height of his talents.§§Praise for The Siege §§"Bold . . . [Arturo Pérez-Reverte's] best yet . . . an ambitious intellectual thriller peopled with colorful rogues and antiheroes, meticulous in its historical detail, with a plot that rattles along to its unexpected finale. It's hard to think of a contemporary author who so effortlessly marries popular and literary fiction as enjoyably as this." - The Observer §§"Pérez-Reverte has long been Spain's most popular, inventive writer of historical fiction. . . . This is a big and bold novel, rich in character and incident." - The Sunday Times § §Acclaim for Arturo Pérez-Reverte§§"John le Carré meets Gabriel García Márquez . . . Pérez-Reverte has a huge following . . . and it's spreading." - The Wall Street Journal §§" The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four . . . pale in comparison with Pérez-Reverte's novels." - Time Out New York §§"It's a rare novelist who can create a literary page-turner. Arturo Pérez-Reverte . . . is one of those rarities." - The Denver Post §§"Few contemporary writers conjure up derring-do as well as Arturo Pérez-Reverte." - The Christian Science MonitorWINNER OF THE CRIME WRITERS' ASSOCIATION'S INTERNATIONAL DAGGER§§For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafó;n comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story - by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.§§Cádiz, 1811: The Spanish port city has been surrounded by Napoleon's army for a year. Their backs to the sea, its residents endure routine bombardments and live in constant fear of a French invasion. And now the bodies of random women have begun to turn up throughout the city - victims of a shadowy killer.§§Police Comisario Rogelio Tizó;n has been assigned the case. Known for his razor-sharp investigation skills - as well as his brutal interrogation methods - Tizó;n has seen everything. Or so he thought. His inquiry into the murders reveals a surprising pattern: Each victim has been found where a French bomb exploded. Logic tells him to pass it off as coincidence; his instinct tells him otherwise, and he begins to view Cádiz as a living chessboard, with himself and the killer the main players.§§In a city pushed to the brink, violence and desperation weave together the lives of a group of unlikely people: the Spanish taxidermist who doubles as a French spy; the young woman who uses her father's mercantile business to run the enemy blockade; the rough-edged corsair who tries to resist her charms; and the brilliant academic furiously trying to perfect the French army's artillery and bring Cádiz to its knees once and for all. And as Napoleon presses closer, Tizó;n must make his next move on the bomb-scarred chessboard before the killer claims another pawn.§§Combining fast-paced narrative with scrupulous historical accuracy, this smart, suspenseful tale of human resilience is Arturo Pérez-Reverte at the height of his talents.§§Praise for The Siege §§"Bold . . . [Arturo Pérez-Reverte's] best yet . . . an ambitious intellectual thriller peopled with colorful rogues and antiheroes, meticulous in its historical detail, with a plot that rattles along to its unexpected finale. It's hard to think of a contemporary author who so effortlessly marries popular and literary fiction as enjoyably as this." - The Observer §§"Pérez-Reverte has long been Spain's most popular, inventive writer of historical fiction. . . . This is a big and bold novel, rich in character and incident." - The Sunday Times § §Acclaim for Arturo Pérez-Reverte§§"John le Carré meets Gabriel García Márquez . . . Pérez-Reverte has a huge following . . . and it's spreading." - The Wall Street Journal §§" The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four . . . pale in comparison with Pérez-Reverte's novels." - Time Out New York §§"It's a rare novelist who can create a literary page-turner. Arturo Pérez-Reverte . . . is one of those rarities." - The Denver Post §§"Few contemporary writers conjure up derring-do as well as Arturo Pérez-Reverte." - The Christian Science Monitor

Sklep: Libristo.pl

Sklepy zlokalizowane w miastach: Warszawa, Kraków, £ód¼, Wroc³aw, Poznañ, Gdañsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice

Szukaj w sklepach lub ca³ym serwisie

1. Sklepy z krainaksiazek pl the next big spanish adventure 20168950

2. Szukaj na wszystkich stronach serwisu

t1=0.016, t2=0, t3=0, t4=0, t=0.016

Dla sprzedawców

copyright © 2005-2017 Sklepy24.pl  |  made by Internet Software House DOTCOM RIVER