krainaksiazek the resolute heart historical young adult book 20117440

- znaleziono 4 produkty w 2 sklepach

Salt to the Sea - 2826623469

53,92 zł

Salt to the Sea Penguin US

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating-yet unknown-tragedies.§§In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.§§Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.§§Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's critically acclaimed No.1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.§Advance praise for Salt to the Sea :§§"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." - Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity §§"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history." -Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb §§ Praise for Between Shades of Gray : §§A New York Times Notable Book of 2011§A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2011§A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2011§The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel§A School Library Journal Best Book of 2011§A Booklist Best Book of 2011§A Kirkus Best Book of 2011§2012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the Year§A Carnegie Medal Finalist§A William C. Morris Finalist§A New York Times Bestseller§An International Bestseller§§"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." - The Washington Post §§"A harrowing page-turner." - Publishers Weekly , starred review§§"A gripping story." - School Library Journal , starred review§§"Bitterly sad, fluidly written...Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers." - Kirkus , starred review§§"Beautifully written and deeply important book that deserves the widest possible readership." - Booklist, starred review§§"Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come." - Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls §§"In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue." - Richard Peck, Newbery


Dash for Khartoum (Illustrated Edition) (Dodo Press) - 2826969372

94,72 zł

Dash for Khartoum (Illustrated Edition) (Dodo Press) Dodo Press

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

George Alfred Henty (1832-1902), referred to as G. A. Henty, was a prolific English novelist, special correspondent, and Imperialist born in Trumpington, England. He is best known for his historical adventure stories that were popular in the late 19th century. His works include Out on the Pampas (1871), The Young Buglers (1880), With Clive in India (1884) and Wulf the Saxon (1895). He attended Westminster School, London and later Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, where he was a keen sportsman. Henty once related in an interview how his storytelling skills grew out of tales told after dinner to his children. He wrote his first children's book, Out on the Pampas in 1868, naming the book's main characters after his children. While most of the 122 books he wrote were for children, he also wrote adult novels, non-fiction such as The March to Magdala (1868) and Those Other Animals (1891), short stories for the likes of The Boy's Own Paper and edited the Union Jack, a weekly boys magazine.


Unutilized Fishes and Their Relation to the Fishing Industries (Classic Reprint) - 2826854082

45,44 zł

Unutilized Fishes and Their Relation to the Fishing Industries (Classic Reprint) Forgotten Books

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

Excerpt from Unutilized Fishes and Their Relation to the Fishing Industries The destruction of food fishes by fishes of little or no commercial value is a subject of obvious importance to the fishing industries. To preserve for his own uses the species he values, it becomes necessary for man to control the depredations of his rivals. Under normal conditions the balance among the different forms of life is maintained by natural laws. Where great destructive forces are at work upon a species that species will be found to be endowed with great powers of reproduction. The lobster, for example, wholly defenseless in its early stages, and even when mature the prey of a host of enemies, is able to perpetuate itself because of its enormous fecundity, there being a biennial production of about 15,000 eggs by each mature female lobster. The smooth dogfish, on the other hand, a most destructive enemy of the lobster but itself comparatively free from enemies, produces from four to a dozen young at a time, and these are practically adult in form at birth. The natural balance, however, is seriously disturbed by man, for whose purposes the supply of one species is exhaustively drawn upon, while another, perhaps destructive, form undergoes no diminution. To offset the drain upon the valuable species, close seasons have been created to afford them protection during the breeding periods, fish hatcheries have been established to replenish their numbers, and sometimes the destruction of their natural enemies has been sought by means of bounties or through the introduction of parasites. Effective methods of lessening the destructiveness of the useless marauders, however, are the important factor lacking in present conditions. While the struggle for existence has grown constantly more severe for the lobster, which has man as a new enemy, the smooth dogfish has continued unmolested, and thus increased in numbers. And so with the other commercial species and their nonvalued enemies. With the fish culturist's aid and the legislator's care a species may be able to maintain itself even against the combined agencies of its natural enemies and man; but the struggle is increasingly difficult, and it is ultimately hopeless in some cases. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.


Daniel O'connell: A Graphic Life - 2840427022

43,99 zł

Daniel O'connell: A Graphic Life

Książki Obcojęzyczne>Angielskie>Fiction & related items>Graphic novels>True stories & non-fictionKsiążki Obcojęzyczne>Angielskie>Bio...

Daniel O'Connell - 'The Liberator' - Lived A Big, Great And Graphic Life. Born In Kerry In 1775, He Witnessed Some Of The Most Pivotal Events In Irish And European History. Simply Told For A Young Adult Audience, With Lively Text And Striking Illustrations, This Book Brings Daniel O'Connell And His World To Life.


Sklepy zlokalizowane w miastach: Warszawa, Kraków, Łódź, Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice

Szukaj w sklepach lub całym serwisie

1. Sklepy z krainaksiazek pl the resolute heart historical young adult book 20117440

2. Szukaj na wszystkich stronach serwisu

t1=0.03, t2=0, t3=0, t4=0, t=0.031

Dla sprzedawców

copyright © 2005-2016  |  made by Internet Software House DOTCOM RIVER