krainaksiazek the resolute heart historical young adult book 20117440

- znaleziono 3 produkty w 2 sklepach

Salt to the Sea - 2826623469

55,14 zł

Salt to the Sea Penguin US

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating-yet unknown-tragedies.§§In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.§§Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.§§Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's critically acclaimed No.1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.§Advance praise for Salt to the Sea :§§"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." - Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity §§"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history." -Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb §§ Praise for Between Shades of Gray : §§A New York Times Notable Book of 2011§A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2011§A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2011§The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel§A School Library Journal Best Book of 2011§A Booklist Best Book of 2011§A Kirkus Best Book of 2011§2012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the Year§A Carnegie Medal Finalist§A William C. Morris Finalist§A New York Times Bestseller§An International Bestseller§§"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." - The Washington Post §§"A harrowing page-turner." - Publishers Weekly , starred review§§"A gripping story." - School Library Journal , starred review§§"Bitterly sad, fluidly written...Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers." - Kirkus , starred review§§"Beautifully written and deeply felt...an important book that deserves the widest possible readership." - Booklist, starred review§§"Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come." - Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls §§"In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue." - Richard Peck, Newbery

Sklep: Libristo.pl

Quests and Kingdoms - 2853163158

145,38 zł

Quests and Kingdoms Sybertooth Inc

Książki / Literatura obcojęzyczna

Fantasy has become an increasingly popular genre of children's literature in recent years; Quests and Kingdoms provides a basis from which an adult unfamiliar with the genre of children's fantasy literature may explore it. Quests is an historical survey for the interested general reader, which will be of great practical value to library and education professionals as well. Though the aim is to give adults concerned with bringing children (or teens) and books together a familiarity with the children's fantasy genre and its history, for those who already know and love the classics of children's fantasy Quests will be an introduction to works and authors they may have missed. Taking a chronological approach, Quests begins with the fairy-tale collections of d'Aulnoy, Perrault, and the Grimms and works its way up to the novels of J.K. Rowling and Garth Nix, covering over three centuries of fantasy read by children. The lives of 95 authors are looked at and placed in historical context, while their works are introduced through both synopses and analysis. Quests also includes chapters on Tolkien, retellings of traditional stories, and King Arthur and Robin Hood. More than 500 works are discussed, and the thorough index makes the book a practical reference resource as well as a history and an introduction to the best in the genre. K.V. Johansen has Master's Degrees in Medieval Studies (Toronto) and English (McMaster). The author of a number of children's books, she held the 2001 Eileen Wallace Research Fellowship in Children's Literature from the Eileen Wallace Collection at the University of New Brunswick. She also received the 2004 Frances E. Russell Award for research in children's literature from the Canadian section of IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People. 'Here is a magical thing, a reference book with a heart and soul. Brimming over with ideas, as well as facts and figures, the writing is elegant and the author's enthusiasm contagious. Here, too, a noble defence of fantasy and its literary value.' -O.R. Melling 'Johansen brings a scholar's erudition and a child's delight to the field of children's fantasy. Her thoughtful survey elevates fantasy from guilty pleasure to moral education, and reveals it to be not a recent marketing-driven fad, but an ancient and unbreakable strand of human creativity. If you know nothing about the genre, this book will turn you into an aficionado; if you think you've read everything, you'll find new gems here, and old ones glowing with a new light. For teachers, parents, anyone who wants to uncover the wonder of reading, Quests and Kingdoms is a pirate's treasure map.' -Tristanne J. Connolly, St. Jerome's University

Sklep: Libristo.pl

Daniel O'connell: A Graphic Life - 2840427022

39,99 zł

Daniel O'connell: A Graphic Life

Książki Obcojęzyczne>Angielskie>Fiction & related items>Graphic novels>True stories & non-fictionKsiążki Obcojęzyczne>Angielskie>Bio...

Daniel O'Connell - 'The Liberator' - Lived A Big, Great And Graphic Life. Born In Kerry In 1775, He Witnessed Some Of The Most Pivotal Events In Irish And European History. Simply Told For A Young Adult Audience, With Lively Text And Striking Illustrations, This Book Brings Daniel O'Connell And His World To Life.

Sklep: Gigant.pl

Sklepy zlokalizowane w miastach: Warszawa, Kraków, Łódź, Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice

Szukaj w sklepach lub całym serwisie

1. Sklepy z krainaksiazek pl the resolute heart historical young adult book 20117440

2. Szukaj na wszystkich stronach serwisu

t1=0.026, t2=0, t3=0, t4=0, t=0.026

Dla sprzedawców

copyright © 2005-2017 Sklepy24.pl  |  made by Internet Software House DOTCOM RIVER